跳到内容
开始内容

岭大视角

资深教师迈向顶尖国际学者之路

资深教师迈向顶尖国际学者之路

有关标准工时立法的谘询,在香港引起热议。在不同社会因素下,标准工时有利有弊,而当中论及最主要的好处之一,便是透过改善工作与生活之间的平衡,减少因失衡而衍生的家庭及社会问题。2006年,香港特区政府推行五天工作周,鼓励本地机构响应,一同提倡雇员在工作与生活之间保持良好平衡。这种融洽和谐的安排,部分源自由平等机会委员会及妇女事务委员会委托进行的《香港「家庭友善」雇用政策及措施研究》。该项研究的主要调查人员 — 岭大应用心理学系教授兼系主任萧爱铃教授贡献良多,最近更获评为世界首二十五位顶尖工作家庭学者之一。

 

萧教授於1986年加入岭大,现已服务岭大长达31年。她自英国利物浦大学取得组织心理学博士学位,凭藉出色的研究资历,先后获优配研究金四度拨款钻研职业健康心理学,并为其中三项研究担任主要调查人员。於1998/99年度,萧教授获职业安全健康局(职安局)资助首笔研究经费,就经理级人员所承受的压力进行一项国际性研究,从该局获得共四项资助。

 

从职业压力的学术及顾问工作出发,萧教授在研究过程中对工作与家庭的范畴产生浓厚兴趣。但兴趣从何而来?她解释:「工作与家庭之间的冲突,是常见的在职压力来源之一。」自此之后,她与两位知名学者Cary L Cooper教授及Paul E Spector教授携手进行不同研究项目,其中於2004年《人事心理学期刊》发表的《工作/家庭压力、工时及健康的跨国比较研究:中国及拉丁美洲对比西方世界》,获得2005年工作家庭研究之Kanter Award for Excellence,被列为当年该范畴里2,500篇论文中最优秀的20篇佳作之一。

 

萧教授不单与享誉国际的学者合作,其在顾问工作方面亦持丰富经验。由於在应用心理学领域具备专业知识,她从2015年1月起一直兼任《压力管理国际期刊》编辑及《职业健康心理学期刊》副编辑,协助统筹此两本由美国心理学会出版的刊物。

 

除了丰硕的研究贡献外,萧教授亦致力於传授书本理论,增强学生对健康生活态度的意识。「我希望透过任教的两个课程,即『工业及组织心理学』及『压力管理、健康与生活平衡』,引领他们达致身心和社交健康的均衡生活。」对她来说,教育永远以学生的健康为先。她补充道:「同学透过撰写反思文章,跟我分享他们如何在日常生活中活用所学的理论。」

 

谈及未来计划时,萧教授提到最近获职安局拨款资助新一项研究:「这个项目为期15个月,我们会采用定质和定量的方式,研究职业压力及其对香港社会和经济的影响。」此外,她亦应中国人民大学邀请於北京进行类似项目,作为学术协作及交流,并计划重新分析收集所得的数据,以比较香港和北京的趋势。萧教授又指:「日后,我会就工作家庭的互动与工作环境安全之间的关系进行更多研究。」

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Insights

Veteran teacher forges ahead as a top international scholar

Veteran teacher forges ahead as a top international scholar

Consultation regarding legislation on standard working hours has aroused keen discussions in Hong Kong.  Among the intense debate between its pros and cons on diverse social factors, one of the key advantages lies on the possibility of reducing family and social problems through better work-life balance.  In 2006, the HKSAR Government implemented five-day work week, and encouraged local organisations to support so as to maintain quality work-life of employees.  Such harmonious arrangement was partly based on the “Research on Family-friendly Employment Policies and Practices (FEPPs) in Hong Kong” commissioned by the Equal Opportunities Commission and the Women’s Commission.  Prof Siu Oi-ling, Professor and Head of Lingnan University’s Department of Applied Psychology who paid her abundant efforts as the research’s Principal Investigator, has recently been regarded as one of the top 25 work-family scholars in the world.

 

Prof Siu joined Lingnan University in 1986 thus completing 31 years of service in Lingnan family.  She obtained her PhD in organisational psychology from The University of Liverpool in the UK.  With strong research profile, she received four General Research Fund (GRF) grants with three as the Principal Investigator capacity in the areas of occupational health psychology.  Prof Siu received her first grant from the Occupational Safety and Health Council (OSHC) in 1998/99 to conduct an international study on stress among managers, with a total of four grants from OSHC.

 

Extending from her academic and consultancy work in occupational stress, Prof Siu further developed deep interest in the work-family area in the midst of her research studies.  “Work-family conflict is one of the common job stressors,” she explained how she developed an interest in work-family topics.  Since then, she has been engaged in research projects with two renowned scholars including Prof Sir Cary L Cooper and Prof Paul E Spector.  They jointly published the paper “A Cross-National Comparative Study of Work/ Family Pressure, Working Hours, and Well-Being: China and Latin America vs. the Anglo World” in Personnel Psychology in 2004, which was listed as the Kanter Award for Excellence in Work-Family Research in 2005, rated top 20 out of 2,500 articles on the topic that year.

 

In addition to research collaboration with well-known international scholars, Prof Siu possesses extensive experience in consultancy works.  Given her expertise in applied psychology, she has been serving as the Editor of International Journal of Stress Management and the Associate Editor of Journal of Occupational Health Psychology, coordinating the two publications under the American Psychological Association since January 2015.

 

Apart from a cornucopia of research contributions, Prof Siu is dedicated to enriching students not only with theories in books but also an important awareness in healthy lifestyle.  “Through my two courses on ‘Industrial and Organisational Psychology’ and ‘Stress Management, Health and Life Balance’, I hope to guide them on achieving a balanced life comprised of mental, physical and social health,” she said, always regarding her students’ well-being as the top priority of education.  “Students have to write reflective journals to share with me on how they transform theories into real-life practices,” added Prof Siu.

 

Talking about future endeavours, Prof Siu introduced her newly granted research study by OSHC.  “In this 15-month project, we will use both qualitative and quantitative approaches to investigate occupational stress and its social and economic implications in Hong Kong,” she explained.  Invited by Renmin University of China, she will also conduct a similar project in Beijing as an academic collaboration and exchange.  To compare the trends in Hong Kong and Beijing, a re-analysis on the data collected is in the pipeline as well.  “In future, I will investigate more on the relationship between work-family interface and workplace safety,” said Prof Siu.